watch out for a favourite family member.... sigh!

Submitted: Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 13:00
ThreadID: 83342 Views:3765 Replies:10 FollowUps:23
I don't approve... but a close family member has just flown across Oz to get her licence, 6 months early.

She can now carry as many passengers as she likes, unlike local law... but can't drive in the wee small hours.

Although a sensible young thing, it worries me. I reckon it's time to make road laws national.

Sigh!

Reply By: - mazcan - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 13:37

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 13:37
hi royce
and which state is it that provides this system
just guessing ----is it w.a ??
i wonder if there is a clause in the system where as :::if your not a permanant resident that one cant do this ?????
i agree with making road law national but which states laws are going to be chosen???
a huge conference is needed before this could happen to select a sensible mixture of the different states rules applyed
do you think this will ever happen ???
cheers and hny
AnswerID: 440295

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:01

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:01
WA.... due to family circumstances she can very nearly claim to live in two places at once.
FollowupID: 712198

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 14:01

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 14:01
Sounds like the sensible young thing might be in for a bit of a shock Royce, that's if she is returning to Vic at 17 and a half. Regardless of state who issues the licence, if she's driving in Vic she'll have to display Red "P's and can only carry one peer in the vehicle. If she's living in Vic, she'll have to get licensed here which means she can't till she's 18 anyway. If she'd working and living in Vic, she's only got three months to change and if she doesn't is considered unlicensed meaning a a significant fine if she's caught. Had this debate last week with my brother who's a sherrif in a one horse town near the SA border. Apparently a few of the young colts in his neighbourhood have tried the same thing.

These are the sought of things that COAG were supposed to sort out but it ends up being nothing more than a bunch of government employed lawyers from each Attorney Generals Department having a peeing contest and nothing gets done.

HNY. Mick

AnswerID: 440296

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:05

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:05
The question asked.... will have the response "not living here" ..... I don't think she will try out the multiple passenger law... but who knows....
FollowupID: 712201

Reply By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 14:52

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 14:52
Gidday Royce

Perhaps you could explain a bit more. If it is WA you are referring to it is my understanding that you may well be able to take the driving test here at 16 and a half but you won't get a full licence and be allowed to drive when not accompanied by a fuly licensed driver until age 17. In the interim you have to log 25 hours of supervised driving and then pass a computer based hazard perception test before a full licence is issued. I would be surprised if it is legal to drive in another state on a WA provisional licence which is really only a step up from a learner's permit.

Rocco

AnswerID: 440299

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 15:14

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 15:14
I might add that even if you are over 17 when you pass the driving test you wlil not get a full licence until you log the hours and pass the hazard perception test.

FollowupID: 712189

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:03

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:03
17.5 has logged the hours, passed the test
FollowupID: 712199

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:14

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:14
Thanks Royce

Your original post kind of left me with the impression that she was going to try flying in one day and leaving with a licence the next. If what she has done is above board in Wa that's fine, what she does in other States of course is another issue
Apologies if you might have thought I was suggesting something dodgy was going down!

FollowupID: 712207

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:28

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:28
Well now Rocco.... it is somewhere in between! She is able to 'elect' where she lives... but elects the east more than the west. I'll go no further :-]]
FollowupID: 712209

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 14:53

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 14:53
Hi Royce

My nephew recently came over from Broken Hill thinking to do the same thing, and he got his "L" plates, now he has his "P" plates for 12 months, and is time restricted.

When he goes back to Broken Hill, he has a set time period in which he must change his licence back, or pay a fine, so in reality, the travelling alone has cost him more than he had planned to pay.

I do understand how these youth feel. Admittedly I am from the sticks, and I have been drivivng on properties since I was about 10, and even back then, I was impatient to get my licence, but could not until I was 18.

I believe the licencing system could soon turn national anyway, I have been told the coding (classes) are already natiuonal anyway.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 440300

Reply By: cycadcenter - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 15:46

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 15:46
Just saying..............

Australia has one of the most restrictive licensing programs in the world.

Here is the requirements for South Dakota in the USA:

South Dakota Driver License Requirements at-a-glance:

Minimum Age for Learner Permit 14 years
Learner Permit Holding Period 6 months (3 months if you've successfully completed an approved drivers education course)
Minimum Age for Driver License 14 years, 6 months for a restricted minor’s permit (or 14 years, 3 months if successfully completed an approved drivers education course); 16 yrs for an operator’s license
Road Test Yes
Minimum Amount of Supervised Driving None
Unsupervised Driving Rules Restricted minor’s license holders may drive unsupervised between the hours of 6am and 10pm if they have their parents’ permission. After these hours, a parent/guardian who holds a valid driver's license must be seated in the front passenger seat of the vehicle.
Passenger Rules None
Other At 14 years, if an applicant has completed driver education and held a learner permit for 3 months they may obtain a restricted minor’s permit. At 16 years they are eligible for a full driver's license
AnswerID: 440302

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:09

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:09
And yet research has found that boys of 10 years old don't have the perceptual and predictive abilities to manage a pushbike ... at 14 years a deadly missile under supervision might be okay, but to be let loose at 16 phew!

My son made it to 21 years old and I breathed a slight sigh of relief. Now with a family and 28 years old, I almost don't worry any more.
FollowupID: 712202

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:11

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:11
Wow, that's scary. Be interesting to find out what their statistics are like?

HNY :-)

Fred
FollowupID: 712204

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 15:59

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 15:59
I wonder what residential address she gave??

AnswerID: 440304

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:10

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:10
The one that worked.
FollowupID: 712203

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:12

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:12
Yet another strong case for the abolition of States .. a situation that only came about so that they could get Federation through. We are well past that now, surely.
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 440306

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:33

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:33
gidday Jack

Where do you live? Over here in WA the phrase national uniform legislation is code for Canberra power grab. It doesn't matter how sensible the reform might be, whether it is driver licensing and transport regulation or controlling the growing of potatoes (yes you need a licence for that here) WA is almost certainly going to be against it. The succession sentiment isnt far below the surface here. Our premier colin barnett (known colloquially as The Emperor), says he isnt a successionist but I suspect that if BHP and Rio organise and fund the coup, he'd be quite happy to be dictator!

FollowupID: 712193

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:35

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:35
No - WA only voted yes in the referendum as the state was overpopulated with eastern Staters who had registered to vote in WA. They were all here for the 1890's mining boom and took their money back with them. This has left a bitter taste for WA residents and their decendants.

I can assure you there will be no abolition of the states, at least until the Federation gives WA the respect it deserves. WA is always at odds with the other states (only state to have an increased liberal majority last election). I believe all states must be in favour of their abolition for the states to be abolished. I know what I'll be voting, not that it will happen in my lifetime.

FollowupID: 712194

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:45

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:45
correction - not last election, last one was so uneventful I forgot about it.

FollowupID: 712196

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:47

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 16:47
My gawd.......hand total control to Canberra!

S.O.S.

Happy New Year to all...The Landy
FollowupID: 712197

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:12

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:12
As far as I understand, in the weeks leading up to Federation WA was out and NZ was in.... That changed at the last moment.

I felt like I was just as much in a State of OZ a couple of weeks ago [when in NZ] as when I'm in the West or NT or FNQ.
FollowupID: 712205

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:58

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:58
I think Equinox is right, sadly. Not in my lifetime. Perhaps generations to come will be able to examine it more closely. We want less government, not more. States are wasteful and are really only a duplication of many services.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 712213

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 19:22

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 19:22
It's "secession" actually, not "succession".

There really is quit a difference in meaning.

FollowupID: 712217

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 19:47

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 19:47
Thank you Allan ... for reasons I won't go in to here that is a very embarrassing mistake ... But you knew what I meant!

FollowupID: 712219

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:55

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:55
Yes Rocco, I figured it, but couldn't resist being a word-policeman! LOL
Glad you were not offended.
Have a good New Year mate.

FollowupID: 712224

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:00

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:00
Sounds like someone is bending the rules and changing their "normal" place of residence.

I don't like it. If its good enough for my sons then its good enough for your "close relative". Sorry but the rules are there to protect us all from inexperienced drivers.

If what I am reading "between the lines" is correct and she is cheating then I hope she gets booked.

AnswerID: 440309

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:13

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:13
Thanks for your thoughts Phil. I hope she doesn't have any trouble.

I agree with you, but I'm also biased. :-]]
FollowupID: 712206

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:28

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 17:28
Understood

FollowupID: 712210

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 18:38

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 18:38
Regardless of whether this young lady has 'used the system' to get her full licence earlier, as scary as it is for us parents, they really only start to gain the experience necessary for surviving on the roads once they get out there on their own. Even the licensing Police officer said the same to my youngest when she got her licence. Good luck Royce - you say she is sensible, so with good advice from you and lots of experience, I'm sure there is one good driver in the making.

We don't need to abolish the states to make licensing of drivers and vehicles as well as road rules uniform across the country. As it is the states treat each other like hostile enemies and hang on to their power by keeping things a little different in each state - quite ridiculous - we are one Country.

AnswerID: 440312

Reply By: SDG - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 19:55

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 19:55
A few "kids" a going into the ACT from NSW to get there licence. Apparently there are no p plates or less time on them and they are allowed to drive at 100 instead of the lower speed in NSW. With this licence they are not restricted in other states.
AnswerID: 440316

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:15

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:15
ACT does have P plates however after 6 months the kids are able to undertake a "P off "course which most elect to do (there is a cost naturally)this also has the benefit of allocating an additional demerit point allowance.
its a while ago now but my son got a conditional licence at 16 1/2 because he worked after midnight at maccas and no publuic transport. (we dont all live in sydney and melbourne.)
by 17 he had done p off and had a full licence( recognised as such in all states.) we havefun convincing insurance companies that you can in fact get an early licence.
while we used the system that was availble I am another who strongly supports a national rego and licencing system ,in fact a supporter of abolishing state governments
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 712222

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:51

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:51
"in fact a supporter of abolishing state governments
Howard"

Is your first name "John"? LOL

FollowupID: 712223

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:59

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 20:59
hi Allen,
the answer to your question is NO
I am the Howard who is proud to call canberra home after 38 years here.
Funnily eneough someone asked the same question about 10 years ago when I first joined EO.
howard but not john
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 712226